Home » christianity » I Can’t Say the Lord’s Prayer Without It

I Can’t Say the Lord’s Prayer Without It

When I was in High School, very early in my faith journey, I came across a piece about the Lord’s Prayer. The author is unknown, but the message is timeless and needed.

I cannot say OUR if I live only for myself.
I cannot say FATHER if I do not endeavor each day to act like His child.

I cannot say WHO ART IN HEAVEN if I am laying up no treasure there.

I cannot say HALLOWED BY THY NAME if I am not striving for holiness.

I cannot say THY KINGDOM COME if I am not doing all in my power to hasten that wonderful event.

I cannot say THY WILL BE DONE if I am disobedient to His word.

I cannot say ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN if I will not serve Him here and now.

I cannot say GIVE US THIS DAY OUR DAILY BREAD if I am dishonest or seeking things by subterfuge.

I cannot say FORGIVE US OUR TRESPASSES if I harbor a grudge against anyone.

I cannot say LEAD US NOT INTO TEMPTATION if I deliberately place myself in its path.

I cannot say DELIVER US FROM EVIL if I do not put on the whole armor of God.

I cannot say THINE IS THE KINGDOM if I do not give the King the loyalty due Him from a faithful subject.

I cannot say THE POWER if I fear what others may do.

I cannot say THE GLORY if I am seeking honor only for myself.

I cannot say FOREVER if the horizon of my life is bounded by the things of today.

I haven’t been able to pray the Lord’s Prayer without thinking of this. My prayer is that it will not only impact your praying, but also your living.

8 thoughts on “I Can’t Say the Lord’s Prayer Without It

  1. Once we have learned the Lord’s prayer…Most of God’s people rattle it off without thought. I think this may be true for much of Scripture unless we take time and ask the Lord what does this mean for me and how can I appropriate it towards others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

