Home » christianity » Sermon Seeds: Faith and Foundation

Sermon Seeds: Faith and Foundation

SP faith blocks

I’ve been meditating all week on Bible verses about faith. Here are a few:

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. Heb. 11:1

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. Heb. 11:6

So faith comes from hearing and hearing through the word of Christ. Ro. 10:17

SP faith roots

And Jesus answered them, “Have faith in God. Truly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that what he says will come to pass, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. Mark 11:22-24

The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!” Lk 17:5

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 2 Tim. 4:7

So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless. James 2:17 NLT

What I’m about to tell you is true. If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, it is enough. Matthew 17:20

So, how is your faith today? Growing? Fading? Active? Passive?

Today as I was reflecting and preparing for Sunday’s message, I realized I’ve been pretty comfortable with where my faith has been. You can translate that as stagnant. I don’t feel good about either of those words. I went to front of our sanctuary and knelt in prayer. And wept.

I talk about the great things God wants to do in this church, in the lives of this body of believers, in this community…in me. But am I willing to step into that growth, willing to take on the changes for me? That’s scarey…and it’s all good. God’s promise and plan shouldn’t be a fearful thing.

So this revelation is going to cost me. Bonhoeffer wrote that there is no cheap grace…the same is true of faith.

This thing we call faith is the foundation for everything we build your spiritual life upon. We need to make sure it’s rock steady.

WP faith foundation

3 thoughts on “Sermon Seeds: Faith and Foundation

  1. Thank you Tina for stirring us to enter into faith and taking the necessary steps toward change… toward fiery faith…toward world changing faith. And how I long to please the Lord. This is the journey on which the Lord has me traveling.He is calling me to radically trust and radically rest in faith because– He is God!

    Like

  2. “God’s promise and plan shouldn’t be a fearful thing.” That’s where I am now, Tina. Unsettled and a little afraid. When I wrote Storms of Life, I was so sure of my calling to write. I stepped way out of my comfort zone. Now, I’m full of questions. Maybe God’s calling me to step out of the box – again! Am I willing?

    Like

    • I’ll keep praying you sense his assurance and leadership. You bring such a refreshing perspective to the Word. Each of act of service has a cost…some are incredible investments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

